Volume 46 • Feb 2014



Indian Association of Cardiovascular - Thoracic Surgeons



EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

Dr.Bhabatosh Biswas President

Dr.Kunal Sarkar Senior Vice President

> Dr.K.N.Bhosle Joint Secretary & Treasurer

> > Dr.K.S.lyer Editor

EXECUTIVE MEMBERS

Dr.Rajan Sethuratnam Secretary

Dr.Suresh Rao Junior Vice President

Dr.C.P.Srivatsava Junior Past President

Dr.V.V.Bashi Dr.Abha Chandra Dr.C.S.Hiremath

Dr.Ashok Hishikar Senior Past President

Dr.R.V.Kumar Dr.Jacob Jamesraj Dr.Trushar Gajjar



FROM THE DESK OF THE SECRETARY



he time has come for the next Annual Conference, the IACTS CON 2014 which is our sixtieth. A lot of hard work has gone into the design and planning of the conference. Kovalam is a quiet serene place suited for scientific deliberation, learning and relaxation. The Executive Committee welcomes you all to a meaningful time of learning and participation and we wish the organsing team all success.

The Life Time Achievement Awards are being awarded to Dr.Andappan Poongavanam, Dr.S.K.Sarkar and Dr.A.Sampath Kumar for their extraordinary contribution to the progress of cardiovascular and thoracic surgery in our country.

The prestigious **C.S.Sadasivam oration** will be delivered by **Dr. Lokeswar Rao Sajja**, the **Godrej S**. **Karai oration** will be delivered by **Dr. Unnikrishnan** and the Keynote address would be delivered by **Prof.M.S.Valiathan**. The scientific programme is well thought out and can be accessed at **www. iactscon2014.org**.

Our website www.iacts.org is active.

We request all members to register and make use of the website.

We also would like the honourable members of the association to deliberate on certain issues and communicate your thoughts during the General Body meeting. Membership numbers in a new format will be presented. Certain financial guidelines would be discussed. Eligibility for free registration at the National Conference, a yearly membership fee, guidelines for eligibility for fellowship, guidelines for persons chairing an event, guidelines for hosting conferences would be discussed and your inputs are solicited.

UPCOMING MEETINGS 2014

- Tehnocollege, 4 & 5 April 2014 Durgapur
- CT CME, 12 &13 September 2014 Madurai
- Thoracic CME, 5 & 6 December 2014 CMC, Vellore



OBITUARY

We hereby remember our beloved Past President **Dr. Ashok Hishikar** who left us on 28th October 2013. *May his soul rest in peace*.

NEWS CORNER Dr.Sowmya Ramanan

of Frontier Lifeline Hospital, Chennai has been awarded the Francis Fontan Prize for her research work on pulmonary valve replacement.



ELECTIONS 2014

----- Candidates for Junior Vice President



Dr.Yugal Kishore Mishra

Dr.Yugal Kishore Mishra is the Director, Department of Cardiovascular surgery at the Fortis Escorts Heart Institute, New Delhi. He has been conferred with awards and distinctions in recognition of his service to the field of cardiac care. He also holds membership in professional societies and editorial advisory boards. He has 85 national and international publications to his credit and has also organized many seminars and conferences.



Dr.Jayakumar Karunakaran is the senior professor and head of Department of CVTS, Sree Chitra Tirunal Institute for Medical Sciences, Trivandrum. He has over 30 years of experience in cardiac surgery and has worked at various positions both in India and abroad. He has significantly contributed to resident training, medical literature and medical device technology research.



Dr. S. Raghupathi has held various senior positions before his current capacity of being Head of the Department Cardio Thoracic Vascular Surgery, Chettinad Medical College, Chennai. He is also University Examiner for M.Ch (CTVS), Paramedical and Allied Health Science courses for various Indian Medical Universities for nearly 20 years and has also organized cardiac surgical screening camps for the tribal and the rural poor. He has served as Executive IACTS Member and Vice president ICS IS and also as the Secretary-India Medical Association (Chennai)

Dr.(Prof) Sushil Kumar Singh

Dr.(Prof) Sushil Kumar Singh is professor and HOD of Cardio Thoracic Vascular Surgery at the King George's Medical University, Lucknow. He was trained in Liver pool Hospital, St.Vincent's Hospital (Australia) and at the Wakefield Hospital (New Zealand). He has been an active member of IACTS since 1997. He has also organized IACTS Techno College and two state level cardiac surgeons meet. He has also been interested in publications and has 25 national and international publications to his credit.



Dr.(Prof) Subrata Dey is professor of Cardio Thoracic Vascular Surgery at the R G Kar Medical College, Kolkata. He has over 14 years of teaching experience and has guided numerous thesis of Mch students and also as an examiner of DNB. He has published articles in national and international journals and has actively participated in CME workshop, Wet lab, National Conferences etc.

Executive Committee Member (2 posts)



Dr.Shiv Kumar Nair is the professor and Head of Department of Cardio Vascular and Thoracic Surgery, Amrita Institute of Medical Science, Kerala. He has been a member of the database committee of IACTS and has also been a faculty member in a number of Cardiac CME's organized by the Association. He is an investigator in many international trials and also is a guide to Mch and DNB students, and an examiner in a number of Universities.

Nominations received for 63rd Annual Conference IACTS CON 2017

City	Organizing Secretary
Bangalore	Dr. Giridhar Kamalapurkar
Coimbatore	Dr.Sundar Ramanathan
Ahmedabad	Dr.Tushar J.Shah



The Cardiac CME was conducted at the Madras Medical Mission, Chennai. 210 delegates benefitted from the deliberations. Dr.C.S.Vijay Shankar delivered the Solomon Victor Memorial Oration. Clinical presentations and a quiz programme ensured knowledge satiety.



Dr. S.Rajan, Secretary, Dr.C.S.Vijay Shankar, Dr.Suresh G.Rao, Junior Vice President Dr.Jacob Jamesraj, Organsing Secretary-CTCME 2013

Contraction of the second seco

IACTS THORACIC CME – 2013

Inaugural function

IACTS Thoracic CME 2013 was conducted at the Aligarh Muslim University on 14th and 15th December 2013. The scientific programme was well organized by Dr. Mohd Azam Haseen. Thoracic surgery lectures were delivered by eminent teachers Dr.Arvind Kumar, Dr.Ali Zameer Khan, Dr. Belal Bin Asaf, Dr. Ravindra Dewan and others. The workshop focused on VATS techniques, which included endostaplers.

GENERAL BODY MEETING on 21st FEB at 5.00 PM



Book - Post

Dr. Rajan Sethuratnam

Secretary, IACTS

The Madras Medical Mission

4-A,Dr.J.Jayalalitha nagar, Mogappair, Chennai - 600037

Ph: 044 2656 5961, 2656 5801, 2656 5991, 2656 5591, 2656 5968

Fax : 2656 5900 | Mobile : +91 9841271353

Email : drrajan1957@gmail.com, secretary@iacts.org | www.iacts.org

4